illustration Eight UNESCO properties in Burgundy-Franche-Comté

Eight UNESCO sites in Burgundy-Franche-Comté

World Heritage in the region

Aerial view of the Besançon Citadel

The Besançon Citadel

The Citadelle de Besançon is one of eight UNESCO World Heritage sites in the Bourgogne-Franche-Comté region. This makes our region the second richest in this respect, after Occitania. The ideal way to appreciate the cultural, natural and historical diversity of our region, while at the same time learning about heritage preservation.

8 must-see properties:

Discover them on video

Map of UNESCO sites in Burgundy-Franche-Comté

1 Cistercian Abbey of Fontenay

2a Church of Notre-Dame de la Charité-sur-Loire

2b Church of St. James the Greater in Asquins

3 Basilica and hill of Vezelay

4 Notre-Dame du Haut chapel in Ronchamp

5 Besançon citadel and urban enclosure

6 Lacs de Chalain and Clairvaux (prehistoric palaeolithic sites around the Alps)

7a Grande Saline de Salins-les-Bains

7b Royal Saltworks of Arc-et-Senans

8 The climats of the Burgundy vineyards